THELAW.TV

Can You Afford The Cost Of A DUI?



According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) an estimated 10,228 people died in drunk driving crashes in 2010. Startling new agency statistics show 70 percent of deaths in drunk driving crashes in 2010 involved drivers with blood alcohol levels that were nearly twice the .08 legal limit. A single DUI conviction could cost you as much as $5,000 or more after all fines and fees are paid. Potential costs of a DUI conviction include: Fines, Court Costs, Bail, Towing and Vehicle Storage Fees, Attorney Fees, Alcohol Education Program Enrollment, Driver License Reinstatement Fees, and Higher Insurance Premiums. Can you afford it?

Top 5 DUI Fined States

1. Massachusetts- Up to $5,000

2. California- Up to $2,600

3. Texas- Up to $2,000

4. Alaska- Up to $1,500

5. Florida- Up to $1,000

                                                                                                              *BAC- Blood Alcohol Content

Alabama

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Imprisonment – Up to 1 Year or, Fine- From $600 to $2,100 or Both, License Suspension – 90 Days

 

Alaska

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Imprisonment – Minimum of 72 Hours

Penalties: Driver License Suspension, Minimum of 90 Days, Fine- $1,500

 

Arizona  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: DUI Base Fine- $250, Arizona DUI Surcharge- $200, Probation Surcharge- $10, Prison Construction Assessment- $500, Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment- $500, Jail- Minimum 24 Hours up to 10 Days, License Suspension – From 90-360 Days, Ignition Interlock Device – Court May Order-Offender Pays

 

Arkansas  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail: From 24 Hours to 1 Year or Public Service, Jail: From 7 Days to 1 Year or Public Service (Child Under 16 in Vehicle), Fine: From $150-$1,000, License Suspension: 6 Months, Ignition Interlock Device May Be Allowed by Court, Alcohol Education or Treatment Program (Possible $125 Fee), Attend Victim Impact Panel

 

California 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.0%1

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: N/A

Penalties: Jail:4 days to 6 months, Fine:$1400-$2600, License Suspension: 30 days to 10 months

 

Colorado

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08% (DUI), 0.05% (DWAI)    (DUI- Driving Under the Influence, DWAI- Driving While Ability Impaired)

BAC Commercial: N/A

Penalties: DUI:  Jail - From 5 Days to 1 Year, Fine - From $600 – $1,000, License Suspension – 9 Months, License Points – 12, Public Service – From 48 to 96 Hour DWAI:  Jail - From 48 Hours to 180 Days, Fine- From $200 to $500, License Points – 8, Public Service – From 24 to 48 Hours

 

Connecticut 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 48 Hour Minimum up to 6 Months, Community Service – 100 Hours if Jail Suspended, Fine- From $500 to $1,000, License Suspension – 1 Year, Complete Substance Abuse Treatment Programs

 

Delaware 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties:Imprisonment – Maximum of 6 Months, License Suspension – 12 Months (BAC of .08 to less than .15), License Suspension – 18 Months (BAC of .15 to less than .19), License Suspension – 24 Months (BAC Greater Than .20), Fine – From $500 to $1,500

 

Florida

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 6 Months Maximum (BAL from .08 to less than .15), Jail – 9 Months Maximum (BAL above .15), Fine – From $500 to $1,000 (BAL from .08 to less than .15), Fine – From,$1,000 to $2,000 (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle, License -Suspended from 180 Days to 1 Year, Ignition Interlock Device-Up to 6 Months(Hardship Reinstatement BAL more than 0.15), Community Service – 50 Hours, Treatment Program May Be Allowed in Lieu of Imprisonment, Vehicle Impound – 10 Days

 

Georgia

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – From 24 hours to 1 Year, Fine – From $300 – $1,000, License Suspension – Up to 1 Year, Community Service – 40 Hours Minimum, License Reinstatement – $210

 

Hawaii  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail -not required, Jail – 48 Hours (If Child Under 15 in Vehicle), Fine – From $150 to $1,000, Fine - Additional $500 if Child Under 15 was in the Vehicle License Suspension – 90 Day Prompt Suspension (May Be Allowed to Drive) or, License Suspension-30 Day Prompt Suspension, BAC Above 0.15 – 6 Month License Suspension (Absolute Prohibition on Driving), Special Trauma Fund Surcharge – $25-$50, Community Service – 72 Hours, Complete Court Ordered Substance Abuse or Education Program

 

Idaho

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 6 Months, Fine – Up to $1,000, License Suspension – From 90 to 180 Days, Restricted License – Possible After 30 Days, Possibly Undergo Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment

 

Illinois  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 1 Year Possible, Jail – Add Up to 6 Months – (If Child under 16 in Vehicle), Fine – Up to $2,500, Fine – Add $500 Minimum (BAC above .16), Fine – Add $1,000 Minimum – (If Child under 16 in Vehicle), License Suspension – Minimum 1 Year, Community Service – 100 Hours Minimum – (BAC above .16), Community Service – 25 Days – (If Child under 16 in Vehicle)

 

Indiana 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Class “C” Misdemeanor, Jail – Up to 60 Days, Jail – Up to 1 Year (BAC .15 or Above), Fine – Up to $500, Fine – Up to $5,000 (BAC .15 or Above), License Suspension – Up to 2 Years, Court Fees- At Least $300, Probation -Up to 2 Years

 

Iowa    

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 48 Hours Minimum up to 1 Year, Fine – From $625-$1,250, License Suspension – 180 Days, Restricted License Possible if BAC below .10, Ignition Interlock Device Required if BAC above .10, BAC Above 0.15 – No Restricted License for 30 Days

 

Kansas

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 48 Hour Mandatory Minimum, or Community Service – 100 Hours, Fine – From $500 to $1,000, License Suspension – 30 Days, License Restriction – 330 Days Following Suspension, Vehicle Impound – Up to 1 Year Possible, Court Ordered Treatment Program Possible

 

Kentucky

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – From 2 Days up to 30 Days, Jail - Aggravated DUI – 4 Days, Fine – From $200 to $500, License Suspension – From 30 to 120 Days, Alcohol or Drug Treatment Program – 90 Days, Community Service - 48 Hours to 30 Days

 

Louisiana 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 2 days to 6 Months, Fine -$1,000, License Suspension – 90 Days, License Suspension – 6 Months (Under 21)

 

Maine 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 30 Days, License Suspension – 90 Days,Fine- $500

 

Maryland

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Jail – Up to 1 Year, Jail – Up to 2 Years (If Transporting Minor), Fine- Up to $1,000, Fine – Up to $2,000 (If Transporting Minor),License Suspension – 6 Months Minimum, Fine – Up to $500, Fine – Up to $1,000 (If Transporting Minor)

 

Massachusetts

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 30 Months, Fine – From $500 to $5,000, Assessment Fine – $50 DUI, Victim Trust Fund, License Suspension – 1 Year, Court Assigned Treatment Program

 

Michigan

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 93 Days, License Suspension – Up to 6 Months, License Suspension – Eligible for Restricted License after 30 Days, License Points – 6, Fine - From $100 to $500, Fine - $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years

 

Minnesota  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: N/A

Penalties: Jail – Up to 90 Days, Fine -$1,000, License Suspension – Up to 90 Days, License Suspension – 180 Days (If Alcohol Concentration .20 or Above*), License Suspension – 180 Days (If Passenger Under 16 in Vehicle*), License Suspension – 1 Year (DWI Test Refusal), Limited License – Must Wait 15 Days, Ignition Interlock Possible Fee – $250, License Reinstatement Fee – $430, License Reinstatement Surcharge Fee – $24,Driver License Application Fee

 

Mississippi   

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 48 Hours, Fine – From $250 up to $1,000, License Suspension – 90 Days

 

Missouri 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: N/A

Penalties: Jail – Up to 6 Months, Fine- Up to $500, License Suspension – 30 Days Full Suspension, License Suspension – 60 Days Restricted (After Serving 30 Day Full), $45 License Reinstatement Fee

 

Montana     

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 24 Hours to 6 Months, Jail – 48 Hours to 12 Months (Passenger under 16 in Vehicle), Fine -$300-$1,000, Fine – $600-$2,000 (Passenger under 16 in Vehicle), License Suspension – 6 Months

 

Nebraska

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Jail – Minimum of 7 Days up to 60 Days, Fine – Up to $500, License Suspension – Up to 6 Months, License Suspension – 1 Year (If Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above)

 

Nevada

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: N/A

Penalties: Jail -From 2 Days to 6 Months, Fine – From $400 to $1,000, License Suspension – 90 Days, Community Service – 96 Hours (If Allowed – Instead of Jail Time, DUI School, Tuition – $150 (Average Cost), DUI, Program or Treatment (Possible)

 

New Hampshire

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Fine -$500 Minimum Fine, License Suspension – From 9 Months to 2 Years, Complete, Impaired Driver Intervention Program

 

New Jersey

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 30 Days, Fine From $250-$400, Fine – From $300-$500 (Blood Alcohol Level .10 or Above), License Suspension – 3 Months, License Suspension – 7 Months to 1 Year (Blood Alcohol Level .10 or Above), Other DWI Fees – $525 Minimum, Automobile Insurance Surcharge – $1,000 for 3 Years, Attend Intoxicated Driver Resource Center – 2 Days at 6 Hours per Day

 

New Mexico   

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 90 Days, License Suspension – Up to 1 Year, Ignition Interlock – 1 Year, DWI School

 

New York 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 1 Year, Fine -From $500 to $1,000, License Suspension – 6 Month Minimum, Pay Mandatory Surcharge, Mandatory Alcohol Screening and/or Alcohol Evaluation

 

North Carolina  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail-24 hours, Fines-$200, License Suspension-60 days to a year

 

North Dakota 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Fine – $250 Minimum, License Suspension – 91 Days (Blood Alcohol Content Up to .17), License Suspension – 108 Days (Blood Alcohol Content .18 or Above), Work Permit Possible After 30 Days, Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation

 

Ohio

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties:Jail – 3 Days Minimum up to 6 Months or, Driver Intervention Program – For 3 Days, Jail – 6 Days (If Blood Alcohol Concentration .17 or Above), License Suspension – From 6 Months to 3 Years, Reinstatement Fee – $450, Fine -From $250 to $1,000

 

Oklahoma      

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – From 5 Days to 1 Year, Jail – Up to 4 Years (Child Under 18 in Vehicle), Fine – Up to $1,000, Fine – Double DUI Fine Amount (Child Under 18 in Vehicle), License Suspension – 30 Days, Participate in Assessment and Evaluation for Treatment, DUI Fees -$300 Minimum

 

Oregon 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 48 Hours Minimum up to 1 Year, or Community Service – 80 Hours, Fine -$1,000 Minimum, Fine -$2,000 Minimum (BAC .15 or Above), Fine – Up to $10,000 (Child under 18 in car and was 3 Years<than Driver), Various DUI Fees – $300 Minimum, License Suspension – 1 Year, Ignition Interlock Device – For 1 Year after Suspension, Complete Drug / Alcohol Treatment Program, Participation in Victim-Impact Panel Program Required

 

Pennsylvania

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.02%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial:N/A

Penalties: Jail-No minimum, Fine-$300

 

Rhode Island 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 1 Year and/or Community Service – From 10 to 60 Hours, Fine -$100-$300 (Up to .08 Blood Alcohol Level), Fine – $100-$400 (Up to .15 Blood Alcohol Level), Fine -$500 (Above .15 BAC), Highway Assessment – $500, License Suspension – From 30 to 180 Days (Up to .08 Blood Alcohol Level), License Suspension – From 3 Months to 12 Months (Up to .15 Blood Alcohol Level), License Suspension – From 3 Months to 18 Months (Above .15 Blood Alcohol Level), Attend Special Course on Driving While Intoxicated

 

South Carolina

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: With a Blood Alcohol Content Under 0.10, License Suspension – 6 Months, Fine- $400, Jail- Minimum of 48 Hours – Maximum of 30 Days, or 48 Hours of Public Service Employment, With a Blood Alcohol Content .10 and Under 0.16, License Suspension – 6 Months, Fine- $500, Jail- Minimum of 72 Hours – Maximum of 30 Days, or 72 Hours of Public Service Employment, With a Blood Alcohol Content Above 0.16, License Suspension – 6 Months, Fine- $1,000, Jail- Minimum of 30 Days – Maximum of 90 Days, or 30, Days of Public Service Employment

 

South Dakota   

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 1 Year, Possible License Suspension – From 30 Days to 1 Year, Fine – $1,000

 

Tennessee     

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 48 Hours up to 11 Months, Fine -From $350 to $1,500, License Suspension – 1 Year

 

Texas

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail-3 to 180 days, Fines-up to $2,000, License Suspension: 90-365 days

 

Utah                  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 48 Hours Minimum, Fine -$700 Minimum, License Suspension – 120 Days

 

Vermont   

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 2 Years Maximum, License Suspension – 90 Days, Fine – Up to $750, DUI Surcharges $160 Minimum

 

Virginia 

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – 5 Days Minimum (If Passenger under 18 in Vehicle), Jail – 5 Days (If Blood Alcohol Level .15-.20), Jail – 10 Days (If Blood Alcohol Level above .20), Fine – $250 Minimum, Fine -Add $500-$1,000 (If Passenger under 18 in Vehicle), License Suspension – 1 Year, Ignition Interlock Device Required (If Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above), Complete Alcohol Safety Action Program

 

Washington

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail -From 24 Hours to 1 Year, or Electronic Home Monitoring – 15 Days, Jail -From 2 Days to 1 Year (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above), Fine -From $865.50 Minimum to $5,000, Fine -From $1,120.50 Minimum to $5,000 (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above), License Suspension – 90 Days, License Suspension – 1 Year (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above), Ignition Interlock Device and License Required, Ignition Interlock Device – Add 60 Days if Passenger under 16 in Vehicle, Washington SR22 Insurance Required

 

West Virginia

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail – Up to 6 Months, Jail -From 2 Days to 6 Months (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above), Jail -From 2 Days to 12 Months (Minor Under 16 in Vehicle), Fine -From $100 to $500, Fine -From $100 to $1,000 (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above), Fine -From $200 to $1,000 (Minor under 16 in Vehicle), License Suspension – 15 Days, License Suspension – 45 Days (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above)

 

Wisconsin                                      

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Fine – From $150 to $300, License Suspension – From 6 to 9 Months, Occupational License Possible

 

Wyoming  

BAC Under 18 years old: 0.00%

BAC Over 21: 0.08%

BAC Commercial: 0.04%

Penalties: Jail -Up to 6 Months, or Fine -Up to $750, or Both, License Suspension – 90 Days

 

Tagged with:

Related Articles